newbie wiring help for ENCO mill drill

Discussion on all milling machines vertical & horizontal, including but not limited to Bridgeports, Hardinge, South Bend, Clausing, Van Norman, including imports.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

taem

newbie wiring help for ENCO mill drill

Post by taem »

Newbie here. I have a second or perhaps third hand ENCO (Taiwan) 91000 mill drill. The PO had replaced the stock switch with a simple spst light switch which wasn't up to the job judging from the slightly melted contacts. Anyway, it does not allow me to have a reverse function-it is simply on off. The motor itself seems to have the ability to run forward and reverse. The data from the motor are as follows (I can't seem to do the right thing to post a photo) made in Taiwan ac motor 110/220 single phase 1 hp 1725 rpm 15.4 amps, 4 pole and one external capacitor. It has 6 wires entering sealed box. My questions are as follows:

what type of switch do I need--drum switch with an external on off switch or just a 3 position on-off-on switch? How would I wire either of these? Can you point me to a good source for more information.

And of course, if there are pointers for this mill itself I'd be happy to hear them

Thanks
Steggy

Re: newbie wiring help for ENCO mill drill

Post by Steggy »

taem wrote: Mon Jan 16, 2023 4:41 pm Newbie here. I have a second or perhaps third hand ENCO (Taiwan) 91000 mill drill...made in Taiwan ac motor 110/220 single phase 1 hp 1725 rpm 15.4 amps, 4 pole and one external capacitor. It has 6 wires entering sealed box.