Welding on 110 vs 220. Amps change.

Welding Techniques, Theory, Machines and Questions.

Moderator: Harold_V

ChooChooChris

Welding on 110 vs 220. Amps change.

Post by ChooChooChris »

Forgive me I am new to welding and just looking for some input. On my inverter welder the amps as measure by a clamp amp meter run 25 percent higher on 220v compared to 110v with the amp dial remaining the same.

So logically I lower the dial to get to the same actual amperage however I find it harder to maintain arc compared to 110 at the same amperage.

When dealing with these inverter units is the voltage consistent between 110 and 220 input? Is It possible on 220 it is using a lower voltage and there for bumping up the amps for the same actual heat output in watts? Or are watts irrelevant here since it isn’t really a resistive load?
-Chris Srch---- Home track Tradewinds and Atlantic Railroad
atunguyd

Re: Welding on 110 vs 220. Amps change.

Post by atunguyd »

Where are you placing this clamp meter? On the cable coming from the wall outlet to the welder or on one of the cables from the welder to the torch or ground clamp?

If the latter then your clamp meter will probably not work correctly as the inverter output is not a pure AC or DC output but rather a pulse width modulated AC/DC signal

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

liveaboard

Post by liveaboard »

As Atunguyd said, measuring real current output of an inverter is tricky.

I've found that the markings on the power knob on my inverter welder have little to do with reality.
So I set it to where I'm happy with the weld.
For 3.2mm (1/8") rod the markings state I'm running 140A to 160A.
In reality I suspect that's more like 120-140.
STRR

Post by STRR »