Rewinding and potting a Sag 12 Graziano clutch

The Photo Album is a place for "Shop Shots" as well as pictures and descriptions of projects that we are working on. Show off your Shops, Machines, and your Projects!

Moderator: Harold_V

Harold_V

Rewinding and potting a Sag 12 Graziano clutch

Post by Harold_V »

Earlier this year I had posted on this project, seeking guidance on the possible rewind of the clutch. I had already removed the coil and determined the number of turns, the wire size, and the coil dimensions, but I have no experience in this arena, so I had hoped to find someone who did. I received some excellent guidance, and kept it in mind as I came to the conclusion that it would be in my best interest to pursue the project myself.

At one point I was willing to have the coil rewound by others. What changed that was that the only source I had discovered had given me enough information that I didn't want to risk them doing the job. For starters, they talked about burning the coil out of the housing, something that sent up a red flag for me. The clutch has some precision diameters and surfaces, so it would not respond well to being subjected to a burn. If they didn't have that understanding, I was not willing to risk using them. Besides, they wanted me to send a complete clutch assembly, so, upon receipt, they could provide me with a quote. I wasn't willing to risk sending a clutch that I may never see again.