Newbie looking for sources

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

Josiah W.

Newbie looking for sources

Post by Josiah W. »

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to the live steam hobby, and am hungry for information. So all other topics aside, if anyone has advice for starting in 1.6" scale, it'd be greatly appreciated.
Currently I'm focusing on plans and research on what to build and a long term project I'm hoping to start once I'm actually competent and have built at least one engine, probably an Allen Models Consolidation, but that may change greatly.
I suppose the main thing I'm looking for help and advice with is just source information on parts and how they work, and how they're built! I know the basics of steam locomotives, but the more I look the more I realize how much more there is. I'm good with math and physics, so it all makes sense and is fascinating, but being an old and mostly unused technology, sources can be sparse on the internet. So if anyone has advice, sources, books to recommend (especially if there's a detailed book on innovations with steam locomotives and rolling stock!), or other such things.

Also my long term hope/project... I realize most people from on a newbie planning big, but that's why this will be back burner research material for most likely 10+ years.. I want to build a 1.6" scale Great Northern 2-8-8-0 N-1 class locomotive. I have some minor details on it, some technical specifications, and that they were built in 1912 by Baldwin, but I'm hoping to find something bigger. Drawings would be incredible, if they exist... And I know some Baldwin documents have survived, but I suppose my main question is... Where can I find what remains, and does anyone know how substantial the remaining stuff is? I expect the worst and hope for the best.

Anyways, thanks to anyone who reads and/or replies,
-JW
hoppercar

Re: Newbie looking for sources

Post by hoppercar »