Kozo A3 3/4 scale up and running sort of

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

sky

Kozo A3 3/4 scale up and running sort of

Post by sky »

Hello,
I am trying to get my A3 to run. First, it's my first build, and I don't know anything about live steam or how to actually run one. (All trial and error) I am running on propane on a stationary tread mill, not on a track.

Second, the water gauge doesn't seem to give me the correct water level. Air bubble or whatever, not sure. I re-made the gauge, like on the Shay, with a drain. That didn't seem to help.

Third, the axle pump leaks like crazy. First the screw (pg120 part 16), added a soft copper washer (fix the leak). Next leaked around the o-ring (fixed that leak, part 12 p120 I made part 5 longer so it captured the o-ring). So, now it leaks down around the tube connection (parts 3 & 4 on page 120). Haven't figured out how to fix this leak. (the Shay has the same design.)

Fourth, the tank leaked at the Blow off valve on page 180, so I remade that to the Shay design and now it doesn't leak !

Big frustration is getting the water gauge to show actual water height. All tubes are clear.

Any help greatly appreciated !
sky
James Powell

Re: Kozo A3 3/4 scale up and running sort of

Post by James Powell »

Getting the engine to run on a rolling road on Propane is a major accomplishment. Congratulations !

Where are you in the world ? It's often far easier for someone who is close by to come and help with a first firing, than to try and diagnose from afar...

There should be a good water level in the glass- if it doesn't read, first try taking the glass OUT, and seeing that water comes out the bottom, then try blowing air through the boiler, and verify that air comes out both the lower and upper fittings without a glass. Once you verify that you have clear flowpaths from both top and bottom, then put in a glass, and fill the boiler again.