Solidworks question

Related to all sorts of CAD and CAM tools. Users should post questions, comments, and recommendations with respect to their favorite CAD and CAM tools.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

JohnHudak

Solidworks question

Post by JohnHudak »

Hi all, I'm learning solidworks 2007 and have a quick question..
Every time I turn it on, I have to go into the "units" tab, and change the decimal places from two to three.. I'm pressing the "OK" button, but when I turn it off then on, I have to change it again.. Am I not doing something right?
Related question... If I leave it alone (2 places) when I use the smart dimension tool, it rounds it up or down to two places.. If I want a .188 long line, it dimensions it as .190.. Is my line .188 or .190?
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm new to this 3d cad stuff...
Thanks.
Steggy

Re: Solidworks question

Post by Steggy »

JohnHudak wrote:Hi all, I'm learning solidworks 2007 and have a quick question..
Every time I turn it on, I have to go into the "units" tab, and change the decimal places from two to three.. I'm pressing the "OK" button, but when I turn it off then on, I have to change it again.. Am I not doing something right?
I'm not a Solidworks user but do know it has configurable defaults that, among other things, allow you to set the default number of decimal places in measuring units.  This is a program with which reading the help screens is real important to getting the best out of it.
Related question... If I leave it alone (2 places) when I use the smart dimension tool, it rounds it up or down to two places.. If I want a .188 long line, it dimensions it as .190.. Is my line .188 or .190?
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm new to this 3d cad stuff...
Thanks.