End mill won't sit square in collet

Discussion on all milling machines vertical & horizontal, including but not limited to Bridgeports, Hardinge, South Bend, Clausing, Van Norman, including imports.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

James Temple

End mill won't sit square in collet

Post by James Temple »

Hello all! I've been using a Proxxon MF-70 for the past several months to rebuild a 1:32 scale model train, and I've run into an intransigent problem. When I mount an end mill in the collet and check it using a dial micrometer, there's always about .005-.007" of variation when I rotate it manually. I presume if it was running square there'd be none (or maybe a thou or two). I've swapped collets, end mills, and cleaned/checked everything for chips or other interference and nothing seems to make any difference.

Searching on the Web (including this forum) so far hasn't produced a solution. Do any of the minds here have ideas? Does this mean the collet set is bad? Or is this just the best I can expect from the MF-70 (admittedly, something a budget model, though one reputed to be reasonable quality)?

Thanks to anyone who can help --
John Hasler

Re: End mill won't sit square in collet

Post by John Hasler »

Exactly how and where are you making that measurement?
James Temple

Post by James Temple »

IMG_6055.JPG
Here's a picture of the setup. The end mill in that shot has a 3mm shank. I determined the variation by seeing what range the needle moves in while I turn the spindle manually.

The variation increases the further down the bit I measure. At that location, it's .005"; about 7mm further down, it's .007".

The bit is inserted as far as the collet will allow. Even without the micrometer, when I bring the cutter near a surface, I can see the distance vary (at first I thought the cutter was bent, but as noted, this happens with any cutter, any collet).
GlennW

Post by GlennW »