Rotary or static converter?

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

JP McG

Rotary or static converter?

Post by JP McG »

Total beginner to three phase/single phase conversation and have a basic question.

I've a SAG12 graziano - runs at 380 or 220V three phase. I want to run the motor at 380V for full power, and don't want to go down the VFD route as I need to get the machine going sooner rather than later, and I'm not up for trying to figure running the DC clutches outside the VFD and rewiring the pump etc. (and i think i'm right in thinking I'll lose some power when rewiring for 220V from 380v)

Will I get away with a static converter (was thinking of getting a 5.5hp to run the 3hp machine)- or do I have to shell out for a rotary converter? I've been chatting with the folks at Hucol and he's been fairly into selling me a rotary converter (>1500€) -- the static converters are ~500€. Got the lathe for 1k€ so it'll be a sad day to have to shell out €1500 for the converter.

Anyone have any thoughts? will I get away with the static and still get full functionality out of the lathe?
GlennW

Re: Rotary or static converter?

Post by GlennW »

You will loose a considerable amount of power for sure if you use a static converter.

Rotary or Phase Perfect is the way to go.

380v to 220v shouldn't reduce power, but will increase amperage draw. The difference involved should be on the data plate.
Glenn

Operating machines is perfectly safe......until you forget how dangerous it really is!
Bill Shields

Post by Bill Shields »

Go rotary..

Converting to run on 2 VFDs would probably not be that difficult. Especially if the only thing you use them for is to provide 60 cycle 3 phase power.

Take everything after the main motor starter and put it on one...everything else goes on the other..