Thread sizing

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Lewayne

Thread sizing

Post by Lewayne »

Hi guys, I have to make a part for something. It needs an external thread on what will be a tube when I drill it out. A matching male thread I have is metric 1.5 pitch but I don't know the size. The outside of the thread tips measures 17.91mm. would that be a 18mm die? And when I turn it, is that 17.91 the measurement I would make the blank before threading it. My old south Bend has no metric capabilities at the moment so I'll have to use a hand die. I'm turning it in brass. I may be pushing my capabilities here but I see no reason why I cant do it.I'm fairly new to this.
I did make two aluminum clamps to hold the battery to my bike frame this weekend and I did that on my mill and they work perfect, and I didn't make a single mistake that caused me to chuck one and start over. I was so pleased. so I'm trying something else.
Harold_V

Re: Thread sizing

Post by Harold_V »

It would be reasonable to conclude that the major diameter is 18 mm. That's assuming the piece in question isn't a bastard, and 16 pitch, as the difference between 1.5 mm and 16 pitch is very small (a little more than three thou per inch). If the male piece you have is a good fit, it's most likely metric.

H
Wise people talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something.
Lewayne

Post by Lewayne »

That's what I thought too. What size should the blank be before threading for an 18 mm thread?
earlgo

Post by earlgo »

Lewayne, it appears to me you need to find a copy of "Machinery's Handbook" published by Industrial Press. In it you will find all the information you will need, and some you will never need. :)