GG1 in large scale?

This forum is dedicated to Riding Scale Railroading with propulsion using other than steam (Hydraulics, diesel engines, gas engines, electric motors, hybrid etc.)

Moderator: Harold_V

pwcphoto

GG1 in large scale?

Post by pwcphoto »

Does anyone know of a company that has produced a GG1 locomotive in 7.5"/7.25" gauge for the live steam hobby? Have always loved this locomotive and was just curious as I have never seen one modeled before.

Phil
"I used to be a rocket scientist, now i am just a space cadet"

RMI 3.75" scale Prairie 2-6-2 under construction.
View Progress
http://www.southerncalifornialivesteamers.com/Forum/forum_topics.asp?FID=18&SID=336957b14adb9765a37dez9785dz6cz7&title=steam-locomotive-construction
Fender

Re: GG1 in large scale?

Post by Fender »

Dan Watson
Chattanooga, TN
SCBryan

Post by SCBryan »

If I recall correctly, there was a series of articles in Live Steam several years ago about building the GG1 for 7-1/2 gauge. There was a lot of detail that you could use to make one.
DavidF

Post by DavidF »

I had to google "quill drive". Was there any wear problems between the cups and driver? Seems like a strange set up, or atleast one im not used to seeing...
Benjamin Maggi

Post by Benjamin Maggi »

I believe it was actually a 1" scale model, and built by someone in a North East club. The articles were from the mid 1990s I think.
"One cannot learn to swim without getting his feet wet." - Benjamin Maggi
- Building: 7.25" gauge "Sweet Pea" named "Catherine"
ccvstmr

Post by ccvstmr »

Ben, are you referring to the GG-1 that was written up by Bill Bridges in the 1998 LS Mags?