Release agent question

Home enthusiasts discuss their Foundry & Casting work.

Moderator: Harold_V

jscarmozza

Release agent question

Post by jscarmozza »

I would like to make a core using sodium silicate and harden it in the core box to pick up some fine details, can anyone recommend a release agent?
Thanks, John
Harold_V

Re: Release agent question

Post by Harold_V »

Hmmm.

Keeping in mind I have no experience with what I'll propose, is it possible that you could use silicone spray in the mold before ramming the sand? Seems that would discourage the resulting core from sticking.

H
Wise people talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something.
ChipsAhoy

Post by ChipsAhoy »

We use CRC silicone spray in our core box to release sodium silicate and sand core hardened with CO2. Our core box and patterns are 3D printed with 175 filament.
IMG_20190117_120809_1.jpg
IMG_20190121_103914.jpg
IMG_20190124_121519.jpg
IMG_20190121_120324.jpg
jscarmozza

Post by jscarmozza »

Thanks guys, I'll give that a try.
John

P.s. Nice work Chips!
ChipsAhoy

Post by ChipsAhoy »

Wish I could take credit for it, but I am a student in this group, so I do help a bit. This is part of the castings for a hit & miss engine.
jscarmozza

Post by jscarmozza »

I still make my patters the old fashion way, out of wood. I'm amazed at the power of the 3 D printer, but I just don't want to make the investment in time and money to learn CAD and purchase the all equipment, besides, this is my hobby, if I was doing it as a business it would be a different story. That being said, you have some really nice patterns and cores, stay with it and learn how. Keep up the good work.
John
ChipsAhoy

Post by ChipsAhoy »

If you use it, let us know how the silicone spray works with your wooden core boxes.
Harold_V

Post by Harold_V »