head space advice??

Topical Discussions include anything pertaining to Gunsmithing.

Moderators: JackF, Harold_V

mtnsmith

head space advice??

Post by mtnsmith »

Hi ya'll, I have a head space issue on a small ring Mauser...The stripped bolt closes on both the go and no go gauges.. I have the barrel off now and I can chuck it up in my lathe. My question is because it closes on the no go does that mean I need to face off a couple of thousandths and check to see if it is good? If that works would I need to cut the shoulder back as well? I am a beginner and I need a little advice.. Thanks..

mtnsmith...........
hammermill

Re: head space advice??

Post by hammermill »

1 st do you have the right guage
second try adding concesative layers of tape to the no go guage to see how far out you are.

a rule of thunb is each layer of tape = .001 so you will have to move the shoulder foreward by .001 for each layer of tape.

is this a old barrel or new one and do you have a chamber reamer?

i do not have access to you tube where i am, but midway usa has some excellent videos on rebarreling,cutting chambers etc that would bare looking at.
mtnsmith

Post by mtnsmith »

Yes I have a chamber reamer and the head space gauges...Thanks for the tip...

mtnsmith....
hammermill

Post by hammermill »

Dave_C

Post by Dave_C »

Hammermill,

It's funny how different people can read the same line and get a different meaning out of it. I concluded that if both the "go" and the "No GO" gage both fit then the shoulder is out to far! (Chamber is to long)

You are correct, the tape trick adds about .002 for each layer. So if the chamber is too long (because the no go gage fits) then the barrel shoulder has to be moved back on full turn and chamber has to be re-cut to proper depth/length.

So it gets confusing when you say "shoulder" as it could be the barrel shoulder that fits to the action or one could think it is the chamber shoulder.

I bet you knew what you meant even though I didn't.