Milling machines

Topical Discussions include anything pertaining to Gunsmithing.

Moderators: JackF, Harold_V

hghunter

Milling machines

Post by hghunter »

I am new to milling machines, though fairly familiar with lathe work.
How large of a mill does one require for such things as cutting dovetails in T/C Contender barrels, installing low-profile sights on model 1911's and similar work. My shop is quite small, and I don't have the space for an overly large machine.

Thanks,
Rob
Cpt Ordnance

Milling machine size

Post by Cpt Ordnance »

I'm ready for all sorts of flack for this answer, but here goes...
I hate the China trade as much as any other middle class American. With that said, I have a Grizzly, G0463 Mill / Drill. You can see it at www.Grizzly.com. They sell for around $1,000. I'm on a lower than average fixed retirement income, so the price alone would make it all I could afford after selling off a bunch of my good junk. However, mine was a gift from my engineer son.

As for the mill, my shop is in my basement, so a large "Bridgeport type" would be out of the question. At under 400 lbs., it was a struggle getting it down the stairs and up on a sturdy bench. After a little practice, I found it will do all I ask of it for the same type of work you talk about. There is no power feed, and that would be nice. Guys are inventing power drives for this kind of machine all the time. I'm going to make my own out of a VSR right angle drill. I also added a vert/ horozontal rotary table, also from Grizzly.
Cpt Ordnance
Cpt Ordnance
wlw-19958

Post by wlw-19958 »

Hi There,

If you can find one, a Burke Millrite vertical mill could be the ticket. They
are about 3/4ths the size of a Bridgeport. They are out of production now
but were made up to the late 1970's or early 1980's The latter made ones
were made when Burke was owned by Houdale/Powermatic and are badged
accordingly.

Depending on where you are, they can be found usually around $1000 and