Another newbie question about buying a used lathe

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

taem

Another newbie question about buying a used lathe

Post by taem »

I know, I know. There must be a hundred of threads about this topic, and I think I have read most of them. What I have gleaned is that the better the question, the better the answers, so I will try to give you as much information as I can about what we are looking for. I am a semi retired farmer, assisted by my adult son who lives on the farm. I am a mechanical klutz; fortunately, he is incredibly smart about fixing things, doing most of the repairs on the machinery and usually making tools to solve a problem. We currently have an 11” Logan Powermatic, apparently cobbled together of spare parts the last year before the company imploded. There is no manual for it (we have looked) He found it rusting away in a shipping container where the school had dumped it when they stopped shop classes. It was so bad to look at, they gave it him for $1 and with much effort, he got it to some running order We have learned and used it, but it still has so many problems that spending anymore time and money seems like polishing a turd: bent lead screw, dicey Reeves drive, non functioning magnetic brake, horrible noises from the head stock bearings ($$$) to name a few.