Eccentric Straps

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

my2cents

Eccentric Straps

Post by my2cents »

All,

I am having to make new eccentric straps for my locomotive. I have machined them and re bored them in the past so its time for new ones. The ones on the locomotive are brass and I want to make the new ones out of bronze. I have some silicon bronze left over from a different project and wanted to know how silicon bronze would work in this application. I am no expert when it comes to metallurgy, but I looked it up and seen that Silicon bronze does not have any lead in it. My understanding is that lead in the composition makes a better alloy for bearing purposes. What is everyones thoughts? I know there is a lot of experience here.

Thank You!
Rick

Re: Eccentric Straps

Post by Rick »

Silicon Bronze should be fine. The silicon in the bronze is a lubricant.
Rick

“We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill (1874-1965)
"Peace is that brief glorious moment in history when everybody stands around reloading". Unknown
Murphy's Law: " If it can go wrong it will"
O-Tool's Corollary: "Murphy was entirely too optimistic"
cbrew

Post by cbrew »

what are the eccentrics machined from? Silicon Bronze is pretty hard isnt it? I would prefer to replace straps vs eccentrics :)
If it is not live steam. its not worth it.
Berkman

Post by Berkman »

wouldn't the best long term wear strategy for Stephenson be to have hardened eccentrics with some sort of replaceable bushing between it and the eccentric strap? then of course a grease fitting or oil hole
cbrew

Post by cbrew »

Berkman wrote: Wed Sep 14, 2022 1:38 pm wouldn't the best long term wear strategy for Stephenson be to have hardened eccentrics with some sort of replaceable bushing between it and the eccentric strap? then of course a grease fitting or oil hole