1.5" scale 2-6-0

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

Chief0763

1.5" scale 2-6-0

Post by Chief0763 »

I am new to live steam modeling. I am currently building Kozo's 3/4" scale 0-4-0. I am considering modifying his plan's and building a 2-6-0 in 1.5" scale. My issue is I lack details on designing the leading pilot truck. Does anyone have plans, drawing, photo's, etc?
Curtis_F

Re: 1.5" scale 2-6-0

Post by Curtis_F »

It may be worth tracking down a copy of Bill Morewood's book "Building the Raritan" about his 3/4" scale 2-4-0 design.

If you want to keep it simple and since you're doing 1.5" scale, consider contacting Little Engines (Jesse Banning) or Allen Models of Nevada (Steve Alley) and getting a set of two-wheel engine truck drawings and castings from one of their locomotive kits. Then design your 2-6-0 around using their parts.
25+ Years of SolidWorks experience...now I feel old.
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink."
"Winning an argument on the internet is like winning the Special Olympics."
www.facebook.com/HillcrestShops
NP317

Post by NP317 »

Reading that you are "new to live steam modeling," my first reaction is to suggest you build one of the existing 2-6-0 kits available.
Little Engines
Railroad Supply
Allen Models
Others(?)
The engineering is completed and the locomotives are good performers.

Making your first build a modification project often leads to an unfinished project.
Building a locomotive is a big enough project that adding the design work may not be a wise choice.

Just my thoughts without knowing anything about your capabilities.
RussN
cbrew

Post by cbrew »

I will echo what Russ is suggesting.
I have plenty of experience freelancing locomotives and I will tell you, unintended issues will result.
even if you spend HOURS with software like Solid works, there will always be issues.
if you are up to that challenge, by all means go for it. :)