Displacement lubricator questions

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

Chris Hollands

Displacement lubricator questions

Post by Chris Hollands »

I think i understand how a displacement lubricator works and i will probably answer my own question .

It works by the water displacing the oil ( the water becomes a piston ) and forcing the oil out of the lubricator by surface area pressure over coming the exterior working pressures of of what it is attached to .

My question is -

1. can a displacement lubricator over come a spring check valve ( low spring pressure )

2. can it push oil up hill
Harold_V

Re: Displacement lubricator questions

Post by Harold_V »

I'm no expert on displacement lubricators, but it is my opinion that it can do neither, as it relies on gravity to function. That said, if it can introduce a drop of oil to a steam line, the steam itself will propel the oil where it is needed, with no regard to gravity. If the steam can penetrate a spring check, there's no reason why the oil contained within wouldn't accompany the steam. So then, if your idea is to introduce a check valve between the steam line and the lubricator, I strongly suspect it wouldn't work.

H
Wise people talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something.
Short Line Tom

Post by Short Line Tom »

Hi Chris,

to my knowledge is an oil check valve not permitted on a displacement lubricator system.
Please find some more informations of my own experience on the topic HERE.

Cheers
Tom
Bill Shields

Post by Bill Shields »

a typical displacement lubricator of that type, depends on a pressure differential to push the oil.

higher pressure from the turret area to lower pressure between throttle and cylinder(s)..and yes they will push uphill

check valves are typically not used (or needed since there should always be higher pressure on the steam side than the oil side)