CliShay/Big Bertha question

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

ChipsAhoy

CliShay/Big Bertha question

Post by ChipsAhoy »

I am making the pattern to cast cylinders for the Big Bertha, An engine designed to go into the CliShay. I have no experience with vertical steam, and next to none with horizontal beyond building up a pair of Allens cylinders to put on my Wendy.
In drawing up the cylinder, I don't see any accomodations for cylinder cocks. I dug around a bit, mostly looking at Stuarts, but I haven't seen any with drains for condensate. Closest thing I see is pin hole ports on Allens brake cylinders.
Anybody have any ideas, experience, first hand knowledge re; drains for vertical steam? Are they even necessary?
Scotty
K. Browers

Re: CliShay/Big Bertha question

Post by K. Browers »

Hi Scotty,
Until the cylinders are warmed up you will have condensation in the cylinder. If there will be enough enough to cause a problem I can not say for sure. A slide valve engine will force condensation past the valve where as a piston valve engine might be damaged. Since you are making your own patterns why not add the bosses for the fittings it is only a little extra work. If you do not need the cylinder cocks machine them off the castings later..

One thing I do not think that can be denied is cylinder cocks will add a certain bling factor... :D

Cheers
Karel
bill4227

Post by bill4227 »

I am building the Clishay/Big Bertha from the Modeltec plans and am planning on adding the cylinder cocks. Also adding piston rings on the piston.

Bill
NP317

Post by NP317 »

I would add cylinder cocks.
My steam launch engine is a vertical steeple compound. It has cylinder cocks for both cylinders and at the bottom of the steam chest.
And they are needed.
RussN
ChipsAhoy

Post by ChipsAhoy »

We also are using the modeltec plans, going to follow advice from here and pour Bronze cylinders, so I can put the boss where needed.