Hardinge BB4 wiring issues - Please help!

Discussion on all milling machines vertical & horizontal, including but not limited to Bridgeports, Hardinge, South Bend, Clausing, Van Norman, including imports.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Jim Clark

Hardinge BB4 wiring issues - Please help!

Post by Jim Clark »

Would anyone here happen to have any knowledge regarding wiring an old Hardinge BB4 mill? I have acquired an old machine that has electrical issues and unfortunately I am not an electrician, so I am not 100% certain what to do to correct the issues.

For example:
1. I have been dabbling with the machine making brackets for a vintage race car project, and when it works it is awesome. Does the job rather well.
But for the last 4 months it has been blowing fuses. Now I have no idea what fuses it is supposed to have in it. It was converted from 230V to 110V before it was gifted to me, and it seems to me that the fuses that are there are rated too low. I am told that a BUSS fuse for a 110V set up should be at least rated to 25 amps. No idea if this is right or not though. Don't really want to start a fire by using one that is rated too high.
I have not been using it for very long, so this might have been an issue with it's previous owner as well. It currently has one FRN15, and 2-FRN8 BUSS fuses in it. It keeps blowing the FRN15, which is the first one in the box. (I have detailed photos of all of the components in the event that anyone needs to see anything if they have suggestions. I am not knowledgeable enough to completely describe everything that needs to be taken into account with this issue, so please bear with me.)

2. Reverse does not work at all and I am not sure how to - or even if - the barrel switches are wired correctly. There is one black wire that is in the system that is completely disconnect at both ends of the electrical run, so something is not hooked up right.