Trepanning

Discussion on all milling machines vertical & horizontal, including but not limited to Bridgeports, Hardinge, South Bend, Clausing, Van Norman, including imports.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

warmstrong1955

Trepanning

Post by warmstrong1955 »

A trepanning tool is something I've thought about purchasing....but I have no experience with one.

I'm thinking that I could save some time on some projects, like this one:
Plates.jpg
I drilled a 1-1/2" diameter hole, the biggest bit I have, and then bored to 2.375" with my 2" boring head.

I'm wondering though....how fast can one expect to cut a hole? Seems like chatter would be an issue, as all the tools I've seen have a rather large cutting face.
Also concerned with going thru more than one plate, like the above pic. (3 pieces 1/4" thick) I don't think that would work well when I got thru the first piece.

Suggestions & tips?

Bill
Today's solutions are tomorrow's problems.
GlennW

Re: Trepanning

Post by GlennW »

I have one of the Swiss made "Valcut" tools, but never really used it, as I went the CNC route right after I got it and from then on just interpolated bores .

As you can see, the geometry is interesting, which keeps it from chattering, as it "drags" the cutting tool.

It also has another longer "Arm" which allows for larger dia. bores, and left and right hand tool bits depending on which part you wanted, the plug or the bore.

It is amazing how well and fast it cuts, but the depth is limited. There may be longer cutters than what I have here available though.

I'd say that you could trepan that 2-3/8" hole in about the same time as it took you to drill it with a 1" drill.

It's pretty impressive!
Glenn

Operating machines is perfectly safe......until you forget how dangerous it really is!
f350ca

Post by f350ca »

I use BiMetal hole saws on the mill with flood coolant. 3 layers of 1/4 plate would be no problem. I'd cut it with a 2 1/4 hole saw then bore out to the final dia.

Greg
warmstrong1955