3-Phase Wiring Question (Start/Stop Switch)

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

NealinCA

3-Phase Wiring Question (Start/Stop Switch)

Post by NealinCA »

I am finally getting around to wiring my old 16" Monarch Lathe.

I just noticed that I had originally posted this picture exactly one year ago today...boy how time flies Image

It is 3-phase and this is my first time working with it. I dissassembled the lathe and wiring about 5 years ago, I have some diagrams and notes, but I think I am missing some part of the puzzle.

There is a junction box that all of the wires go in or out of and that is where I am confused. Image

Here is a wiring diagram showing what I have to work with.

How do I hook up the wires labeled 1-9? I assume 10-12 hook to 13-15, I am just not sure how the start/stop switch (4-6) fit in.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Neal Jennings
Atascadero, CA
Doug_C

Re: 3-Phase Wiring Question (Start/Stop Switch)

Post by Doug_C »

More data would be needed for the start stop switch and/or if there is a relay in the junction box or seperate overload units.

As a guess, without a relay, I would say 1-3 connect to 4-6 on the start switch, but 7-9 should come from the lower side of the start switch, only if it is 3 pole, single throw switch.

Otherwise 1-3 go to the top of a relay and 7-9 come from bottom relay connection points(after the overload heaters). Possibly 4-6 control the relay coil(one wire could be ground) to transfer power via relay using the start switch.

If there are any E-stop type functions, this may be a typical 3 wire control, where a relay gets dropped out from a latched in condition. More so on lathes with a foot brake option.

If that makes sense.

DC
Patenteux47

Post by Patenteux47 »