Advice, on whether to return this lathe?

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Flam98

Advice, on whether to return this lathe?

Post by Flam98 »

HELP….

Folks,

I am new to the hobby world and building out my machinery workshop etc. I recently bought an affordable (for me) mini lathe. The brand name is Vevor in Australia. It is a Chinese made unit, but I don’t know which area or factory in China that it comes from. Here's a link to it. https://www.vevor.com.au/metal-lathe-c_ ... 0100579461

I have had the machine a few days but unpacked it today and put it up on a temporary bench to go over what I might need to improve based on watching many YouTube videos.

After sitting the lathe in position I started to twist the dials and there seems to be a lot of ‘slop’ or ‘play’, play is the term I would feel is most comfortable. By play I mean the adjustment dial will rotate both clockwise and counter clockwise within an indiscriminate margin (sometimes a small amount, sometimes large) without the bed moving. This seems wrong to me. The last time I used a lathe was 20 years ago, so I am not 100% on what’s right to expect.

This ’play’ is not just with one dial, this is with all the dials on the machine (to a lesser or greater extent). I have taken 4 short videos that demonstrate what I am talking about.

https://youtu.be/ibISTpAFcfg
https://youtu.be/VbrEB7ew2fg
https://youtu.be/A7Bz6Y7xBzc
https://youtu.be/djMLq2h6bjc

While I was not expecting a marvel of perfection when I purchased this unit, it has to be accurate. I am afraid that the play in the machine that I can see is a bad sign, and I’d be wise to return the lathe for a refund if that is the right option. As you will see from the video’s I will post the delivery grease is still on the machine.