Help Wiring Lathe

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

michael soibelman

Help Wiring Lathe

Post by michael soibelman »

Hello group. I'm new here so I hope you can help me to learn. I'm new to machining and have a lot to learn. Your experience(s) will be helpful to me.

A few years ago my father and brother were at an auction at our model live steam railroad club L.A.L.S
in Los Angeles and they bought a Sears Craftsman lathe. Well now I'm trying to get it running and I've cleaned it up thoroughly. It's in pretty good shape but I had to discard the wires and motor which was burnt out. I have a new motor and need help wiring it up. I ran new wires to the front panel on/off switch and need to wire the plug, reverse/forward switch and motor as well. Here's what I have.

The lathe is Craftsman (Atlas ?) Model 101-27430. The forward/reverse switch is a Furnas A14 drive controller. The motor is a Dayton 1/2 hp single phase capacitor start motor. I'm attaching pictures so you can see the relevant parts. So what I need is a diagram showing the power cord hooked to the on/off switch to the reverse/forward switch and to the (reversible) motor. As I've seen the reverse/forward switch in another thread here I hope you'll be familiar with that.

Thanks for your help.
Michael Soibelman
Switch
Switch
Motor schematic
Motor schematic
pat1027

Re: Help Wiring Lathe

Post by pat1027 »

The diagram on the motor is marked for double pole double throw switch but as it's drawn it looks like they are showing only a single rotation.

Being a lathe do you need it to reverse?
John Hasler

Post by John Hasler »

Poor diagram (common, unfortunately). The center off position is implied.
pat1027

Post by pat1027 »