Lathe disassembly question, take carriage off?

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

bulgie

Lathe disassembly question, take carriage off?

Post by bulgie »

I want to lighten my "new" '82 Enco 10x24 (Taiwan) enough to carry it downstairs. This is my first time disassembling any lathe.

I was hoping, after removing the pillow block (is that the word) that holds the left end of the lead screw and feed rod, that I could just slide the whole carriage off the left. But it stops because the keyway in the feed rod doesn't go all the way out the end (see attachment). I assume this is normal?

Does this mean I have to remove the feed rod first? I haven't looked at how it's attached in the gearbox, any gotchas there? And once that's done will the feed rod slide out from the carriage? That is, does the keyway go all the way out the right end of the rod?

The machine is decently clean, so I am hoping to avoid a total rebuild. Is it crazy to slide the entire carriage off without first disassembling it, like taking the apron off?

Grateful for any comments even if it's "you're an idiot".

Cheers
Mark
Attachments
Enco feed rod keyway.jpg
rmac

Re: Lathe disassembly question, take carriage off?

Post by rmac »

Hi Mark, and welcome to the forum. I have a Taiwanese lathe of about the same vintage that's probably very similar to yours. So some of this may actually help!
bulgie wrote: I was hoping, after removing the pillow block (is that the word) that holds the left end of the lead screw and feed rod, that I could just slide the whole carriage off the left.
You'll probably have better luck sliding the carriage off the right. :)
bulgie wrote: But it stops because the keyway in the feed rod doesn't go all the way out the end (see attachment). I assume this is normal?
It's not abnormal, anyway. Mine is the same. See the picture.