old jet 10x24, where can I find parts?

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

heli

old jet 10x24, where can I find parts?

Post by heli »

This seems to be a great site that is very active and has a lots of knowledgable members.

I am new to all of this and have been searching the internet a lot lately for info on finding this 19 tooth gear.

I am not great with the terms of these lathes so I might get the part names wrong.

I have a damaged gear with 19 teeth(brass, i think) that is under the carriage and rides on the leadscrew. It is supposed to drive one of the handwheels. I have called Jet and they said to call Machine-Tools Direct. I was told the part is not made anymore.

I've looked into gear making stuff(hobs), seems way out of my league. The only thing I know how to do on a lathe is reface automotive A/C clutches, and thats all this lathe is going to be for anyway.

Any kind of information or feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Fletcher Grosz
heli

Post by heli »

I am pretty sure the part number for this gear is 10-0429A(B)
Herm Williams

Post by Herm Williams »

Hello
If there is a bearing house near you could take the gear to them and almost allways it can be matched. It is difficult to get one gear made but it can be done. I think the most difficult part would be the specifications for the gear.
re
MikeC

Post by MikeC »

It'd take about an hour to hand grind and hone a form gear cutter and set that up in a dividing head on a shaper. Another hour with the shaper and you'd have a gear. Where are you? Maybe one of us can help you out.
gnorbury

Ahh yes

Post by gnorbury »