Gauge blocks

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Mr Ron

Gauge blocks

Post by Mr Ron »

I am looking to buy a set of rectangular gauge blocks. They cost anywhere from just over a hundred bucks for an 81 piece set to well over several thousands of dollars. One set I am looking at is an 81 piece "economy" set from Shars Tool Co. It has an NIST certificate and a tolerance of 0.000050". Being a hobbyist, I don't need the expensive set; this one costs $117.50. Is the set I'm, referring to any good or is it just a piece of Chinese junk? I'm assuming the material is steel and subject to rusting unlike the expensive ones that are made of a non-corroding ceramic material. Steel blocks would have to kept oiled when not in use and wiped clean before each use; am I correct in my reasoning?
Mr.Ron from South Mississippi
Bill Shields

Re: Gauge blocks

Post by Bill Shields »

Your reasoning is correct. You will need to keep these things clean and oiled ..just like industry did long before ceramic blocks were available

Tracible to NIST in this case means nothing.

As a hobbiest...spend what you are comfortable with spending.

Purchase from a country that you are comfortable supporting.

If I were not in a hurry, I would look for a used set made in USA...however there are no guarantees regarding what you will get.
Too many things going on to bother listing them.
Harold_V

Post by Harold_V »

Bill Shields wrote: Sun Feb 06, 2022 2:45 pm .however there are no guarantees regarding what you will get.
Hmmm. I suspect that's true for those made in China, as well.

I am not bashing China. Just expounding on experiences I've had. Some good----some not.

H
Wise people talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something.
LIALLEGHENY