Tourbillon build

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

RSG

Tourbillon build

Post by RSG »

I thought it might be interesting to post a thread on a fishing reel build I have been working on for a few years now. Whats interesting about this project is a working Tourbillon I designed and am building that fits in the back of the reel. It's more of a collector reel than a reel you would fish with but it is functional.

This journey has taken me places I never thought interested me before and I am learning a ton of things like how a watch works, gear cutting and jewel bearing design to mention a few. There have been many hurdles I have overcome and many more I'm sure. If you care to follow along I'll post pics as I go. My goal is to have the rest of the project complete by late fall.

So far I have the backplate housing, spool and small assemblies complete with lots of mill work still required.

Lot of little items like power springs and hair springs

And Jewel bearings...these are perhaps a bit smaller then I need for this project so I am about to attempt to machine my own housings and head stone retainers to accommodate some larger jewels I found from a supplier. I'll save these for another project I am designing with three tourbillons inside.

Up next is some cycloidal gear cutters I have decided to machine since I cant find ones in the configuration I need for this build.

I'll keep posting as I go for those interested.

RSG
Vision is not seeing things as they are, but as they will be.
pete

Re: Tourbillon build

Post by pete »

Very interested for sure. I know you don't have cnc, so how are you doing the engraved lettering?
RSG

Post by RSG »