Milling aluminum

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

elewayne

Milling aluminum

Post by elewayne »

so I'm going to try to mill my first part out of aluminum. I don't think the aluminum is anything special, just ali bar stock.
About how fast do I want to set the machine for RPM? I'm very new to this.
ERIE S-1 BERKSHIRES

Re: Milling aluminum

Post by ERIE S-1 BERKSHIRES »

Well that all depends on the diameter of of the End Mill you're going to use, when I cut aluminum on the bandsaw , I use a metal cutting blade but it's on a wood bandsaw Delta Rockwell that is so I don't reduce the speed at all same RPM as wood Cuts like butter
elewayne

Post by elewayne »

sorry, I meant to say more and got rushed.I'm using a 1/2' two flute end mill. I'm making new end caps for the 4" square tube bumper on my camp trailer. so I can carry a really cool ladder that folds up to 4" square inside the bumper. I'll make it fit then drill for a rod that I can clip to stay in place.
So I have to get the piece down to exact size, mill a flange around the outside, and remove at least some of the material from the inside so I don't have to drill a 4" hole all the way through it.
Harold_V

Post by Harold_V »

Knowing the alloy and hardness can make a difference, although there are no hard to machine aluminum alloys (that excludes aluminum bronze).
2024 T351 is a shear pleasure to machine. 7075-T6 and 6061-T6 are also quite nice to machine. Unless you have a high speed spindle, no need to worry about how fast, just throw all the machine has at it, assuming you can keep up with the cuts. It's always a good idea to have each flute remove a thou or more, and it should be able to handle ten thou per tooth without issue. It's very hard to run a cutter too fast in aluminum.