One piece at a time

This forum is dedicated to Riding Scale Railroading with propulsion using other than steam (Hydraulics, diesel engines, gas engines, electric motors, hybrid etc.)

Moderator: Harold_V

Gra2472

One piece at a time

Post by Gra2472 »

Good evening guys. I wanted to share my latest project with you. As a novice cnc machinist I am still learning the ropes, and the best way to do that is to make stuff.

This project started when I decided to correct the height of a wooden tank car that I bought a few years ago as an auxiliary water car. It has spend a lot of time in the back of the shop waiting its turn. The original trucks have an odd center post bolster design that is much too tall. Because of this, the couplers were a good three inches above the height of the rest of my equipment. Essentially rendering the car useless.

Since I have a pair of Allen arch bar trucks on the shelf waiting for their next assignment, I decided to replace the original trucks with the Allen trucks. This means that I would need to make a new body bolster. So, into my office I went. It took me a full day on the computer but I designed a new bolster in Fusion 360 which I am just now learning how to use. I find it much easier to use than Bobcad/cam which I had been using for the past couple of years. Unfortunately, Bobcad does not support 4th axis machining without a big upfront cost (future department) so I made the switch to Fusion 360 last week. I find that It is rather intuitive once you learn where things are in the system. As I found out though, I still don’t have all of the CAM settings quite right yet for my little mill, but I am getting there.