Second Introduction

Topical Discussions include anything pertaining to Gunsmithing.

Moderators: JackF, Harold_V

randyc

Second Introduction

Post by randyc »

Howdy,

I introduced myself in the "general discussion" part of the forum a few days ago. Briefly I am a retired engineer, relocated from the San Francisco area to Eureka, California (behind the Redwood Curtain as the natives say). I have a small machine shop and formerly used it in support of my consulting business.

One of my interests is firearms, although I'm not a hunter. I truly love skeet (occasionally trap) and enjoy target shooting with my boy. Because my son enjoys these things, it's been a convenient means of introducing him to machine tools and mechanical design techniques. Two years ago, we spent several weeks building a target rifle from an 1893 Mauser and he enjoyed the process. The experience continued with handload development and the possibilities of improving accuracy as a consequence of having metalworking machinery.

He's away at school (on the east coast) now but we were talking about another project last time he was home. Somehow the topic of snake guns came up - the boy defines that to mean a fairly light handgun capable of firing shotshells. He asked if we could design and make something like that and I said "sure, why not?" without giving the subject much thought. I knew that California has strict firearms laws but I didn't see any real problem with the project. In fact, I called the county sheriff's office, explained what I wanted to do and asked for their advice.